The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Families indeed tend to have a meal together less frequently. Although the reasons for this vary, several reasons can be put forward to explain this changing behaviour pattern, and there are significant impacts on life and health. There are various reasons why families no longer share mealtimes as they used to do in the past. The first reason is that people these days tend to have heavier workloads and more hectic schedules than in the past, resulting in families member not being able to sit down and share meals. Another reason is that modern life’s fast-food culture can change people eating habits like fast food, which can be found everywhere and is usually an inexpensive food choice. For instance, young people in Vietnam often grab a little snack after a busy day at work or school, which leads them to skip the meals with their family when they go home. The consequences for family life and children’s health are severe. In terms of family, meals taken together are the best time for all family members to share news, give guidance or advice. Furthermore, family plays a vital role in shaping children’s personality during formative years. Therefore, losing these traditions means that the family life and children’s behaviour could be negatively affected. In terms of children’s health, family meals are an opportunity to supply all the family with a healthier diet by home-made food. Because eating out regularly or eating a lot of junk food harm children’s health, such as obesity, heart disease. While meals at home are clean and green, providing sufficient vitamins and minerals to build a robust immune system for family members. In conclusion, numerous reasons lead to the separately eating meals in families, and the impact is overwhelmingly negative.