The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

It is argued that these days, family members do not always have meals together as they used to do. There are several reasons for this situation and it can result in a variety of negative effects on family life and wellbeing. The tradition of sharing mealtimes in families is disappearing due to two main causes. Firstly, many children are too impatient to sit at the table to eat meals with their parents. They are also allowed to eat in front of the TV or computer screen. The second reason contributing to this situation is the disappear of close-knit family. In the modern world, many parents have such a hectic schedule that they cannot get home early to have meals with their children, especially in the households with mother-workers, it can be almost impossible to arrange a meal that all family members can sit together. The consequences for the family life and children’s health are serious. In terms of family, meals taken together are the best time for all family members to share news, give guidance or advice. Furthermore, family plays a significant role in shaping children’s personality during the formative years. Therefore, losing this tradition means that the family life and the pattern of children’s behavior could be affected in the negative way. In addition, for those whose parents are too busy to prepare meals may be left to eat junk food at fast food chains. This, consequently, would develop unhealthy eating habits, which are likely to cause problems on children’s health such as obesity. In conclusion, there are numerous reasons leading to the disappear of family meals and the impacts are overwhelmingly negative.