The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far out-weight the disadvantages. Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

With the revolution of modern technology, countries all over the world build sophisticated inventions for their defence. Some opine that the nuclear weapon has brought peace among the world; moreover, it is cost-effective and clean. I partially agree with this notion. Despite numerous benefits, there are considerable drawbacks associated with this technology. It is irrefutably true that the advent of a nuclear weapon has affected the world positively as the threat of its devastating damage made countries to have a cooperation with their allies. Furthermore, another significant merit is the usage of fossil fuels would be drastically reduced. Nowadays, governments are over-exploiting oil, petrol and other resources to generate electricity; consequently, the future generation would encounter fuel scarcity. Therefore, nuclear power is an ideal replacement for such natural resources. To illustrate, the Japanese regime has started to build several nuclear power plants in many cities to diminish the utilization of non-renewable energy; so that it can be better used for other purposes. Contrarily, there are two prominent causes of nuclear power. Firstly it can also cause adverse effects in society. Since it has been made with atoms, which is by far the most powerful energy component in the earth, it could cause devastating damage if it handles without proper safety measures. Besides, the nuclear waste that is being disposed from power plants adulterates the water sources and causes detrimental issues to the local community. For instance, according to the BBC news, farmers around the world lodge complaints against domestic power plants as it affects their primary water source, which is used for agriculture; thus, they are being affected financially. This signifies that the corrective actions are imperative in this regard. In conclusion, although nuclear technology is an excellent replacement source of ground resources, the alarming demerits of this substance outweigh its merits. It is suggested that the government should find ways to reap the benefits of this invention without affecting the general populace.