The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

Recently, the production of nuclear weapons has become popular and there has been an increase of energy from nuclear power production which is regarded as affordable and safe. I disagree with this viewpoint because I believe there are more disadvantages than advantages of this tecnology. Firstly, the fumes from nuclear production leads to global warming. These affect the ozone layer of the atmosphere because they have a high content of carbonmonoxide. A study from the American Environmental Association showed that there was a decline in the quality of air in areas where there was nuclear production plants. Additionally, more health issues are also arising in places where these plants are located for example in North Korea. Secondly, this technology puts a burden on the countries' economies because it is very expensive to produce and mantain. For example, the United States of America spends billions of dollars on nuclear weapons every year. As a result, tax payers are forced to pay more money towards this cause rather than spending it on health institutions and welfare issues. Lastly, in contrast, this modern technology protects the country which has the nuclear weapons from global enemies because any country that wants to start a war will be frightened to do so. Also, they will be defeated for example a study showed that one weapon with nuclear power is capable of blowing up a large city and affecting neighbouring cities by emitting chemical residue. In conclusion, although this technology promotes peace around the world, the effects of its production on the countries' economies' and the environment is negative. Therefore, I strongly believe it is less beneficial to have nuclear power.