The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harm to the individuals and the society as a whole.

It is stated that the recent coverages have negative influence because they are concentrating on urgent issues while ignoring the upsides. From my point of view, I totally disapprove of this statement. Admittedly, mainly reporting the bright sides of social harmony and technology progress would boost the viewers’ confidence in the community and local government. It is true that the residents would have the sense of fulfilment and satisfaction if they are surrounded by pleasant reports. This positive attitude may also contribute to a harmonious living environment when only the bright aspects are reported by the mass media. Nevertheless, the argument above cannot be completely justified. Without the up-to-the-minute local news regarding incidents, such as serious gunfire nearby, the locals would not be warned the danger of leaving their houses, thus, saving their lives. Besides, it was the Amber alert that helped police found the abducted children and arrested the suspects immediately. On the other hand, reports relating to social crisis and natural disasters are crucial for people to live a better life. Initially, urgent news notification can improve residents’ wellbeing. This is because when the press covers the recent damages worldwide, the general public can provide humanitarian or financial support to those in affected areas in time, thereby alleviating locals’ suffering. For example, the news broadcasted about the earthquake happened in Haiti promoted the awareness of the environmental crisis globally, so that the Haitian received immediate rescue and funding, thereby helping them getting through difficulties. Therefore, urgent news is crucial locally as well as globally. As previously discussed, although people might feel satisfied with good news. It is more essential to cover the incidents, which will be beneficial not only to the local residents but also to the whole society.