Some people think that shops should sell food products from the local areas rather than products from other countries.

It is thought by many persons that supermarkets should sell locally produced food instead of products from another country. In my opinion, I completely agree that only food products from local area should be sold in stores. Therefore, this essay will discuss reasons as to why only locally produced food should be sold in supermarkets. Firstly, one of the evident benefits of this is that it will positively affect the economic growth of the country. This means that the revenue generated would significantly increase because the local manufacturers are willing to pay their tax due to increase in patronage. For instance, a special survey by the West African bureau of statistics uncovered that there was a 70 percent increase in the revenue generated in Nigeria from locally made food. This reveals the extent to which selling only locally made food can be beneficial in a country. Furthermore, another notable benefit is that it will reduce the level of unemployment. Since manufacturers and entrepreneurs will require more workers for production in order to meet up with the high demand of the products for consumers, this will result in creating of more jobs. For example, according to a 2016 report by the New York times that the unemployment rate of Singapore decreased because many jobs were available in local companies and most of this was attributed to selling only locally produced food in the market. Finally, this will encourage agricultural activities. Most raw materials used in food production are sourced from the farm. For example, tinned tomatoes processing companies require fresh tomatoes for production, due to the demand for farm produce it will boost cultivating of tomatoes in the country. In conclusion, the advantages of selling only locally produced food in the country are enormous in my opinion. Therefore, the government should enact a law for imported products to be banned and ensure only local food are sold in the market.