The rote learning of information by memorization plays the most important role in educating people. Do you agree with this opinion?

Capability of learning something is dependent on the comprehending ability of the peoples. It is believed that rote learning plays a crucial role in the education of inhabitants. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that this way of memorizing is not wise for cognitive development and will sustain information only for a limited time in memory. First of all, the rote way of learning keeps the information in the head for a limited time. This is to say that, some people choose this idea to memorize as it is easy and takes lesser time to learn any content. But this type of learning is hard and tends to be forgotten soon. For instance, the students in their school period find the first or second language difficult to read and keep in mind. This will make them forget information while doing their exams. Secondly, this way of learning also makes people weaker in cognitive thinking. In other words, they become dumb in their thinking and intellectual skills. This way of learning makes them habituated to run their mind and learn only by a rote method. For example, the majority of people who claimed to follow rote learning are found to be weaker in their day-to-day tasks and calculating power. Thus, rote learning has a negative effect on the brain of these peoples. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that rote method of learning is not ideal way to learn because it is not only forgetful but also makes people weaker in their cognitive and thinking abilities. People must comprehend to learn rather than rote and memorize