The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world. Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology.

Education is a critical domain to prepare students for the contemporary world. It is considered that learning institutes ought to cut art and music out of the syllabus so that children can concentrate on critical subjects such as information technology. I fully agree with this view and this essay will discuss reasons for it. Firstly, schools should focus on technical subjects and remove artistry and music related courses because the job prospect in the future requires technical skills. Due to the advancement in the technology, job market requires more technical individuals and very few art and music related professionals. This, in turn, means if schools maintain focus on the information technology subjects, students would be able to devote much time in learning technical subjects, which would be, in turn, beneficial for their career aspect. A recent report from Oxford University, for instance, showed that 75% of jobs in western countries are for people relating to telecom, software and computer skills, and only 5% for artistic skills. Secondly, another reason of giving focus solely to the information technology and cutting art subject is that technical subjects require more efforts and time. The time which is wasted in learning art subject, can be utilized in learning tough technical subjects, which require extra efforts and struggle. In other words, technical subjects such as software programming, digital communication, and computer skills require excessive study, due to their hard to learn aspect. Research by World Education Institute, for example, revealed that technical courses require 5 hours extra time for study than non-technical subjects. In conclusion, it is argued that schools should exclude art and music from their curriculum, in order to keep concentration on technical subjects, I completely agree with this notion, as future employment requires technical individuals and technical subjects demand more efforts.