Television has diminished the free time of people. It can make people lazy and not socialize with others.

Many people spend most of their leisure time watching the television and It is thus argued by some people that the television could make people idle and reduce their interaction with others. I agree with this notion because television viewing often interfere with the daily schedule of people and it encourages them to stay indoors. Firstly of all, the daily activities of some people is affected by the viewing of television. A key reason for this is that many people spend their free time watching the television, which prevents them from performing household chores such as cleaning and laundry and disrupts their sleep. This results in lateness to work and unfinished tasks in the workplace. For example, seasonal movies has been identified as an important factor for the poor academic performance of youngsters and the reduction in zeal at work among adults. Therefore, some people's work is been affected by the viewing of television, which used to be done at leisure hours but it has now crept into the secular work hours. Furthermore, many people are satified staying at home watching the television. They are not bored due to the numerous entertainment programmes shown on the television. This reduce the need to make new friends, visit old associates and involve in social events. For instance, a recent study in Nigeria revealed that the mass media has impaired on socialization efforts among the youths. Thus, many people do not interact with others due to the fact that they are preoccupied with the television. In conclusion, I suppot the view that the television could make people less social and lazy because it affects their daily activities and encourages staying indoors. Efforts towards enlightening the public about these dangers should be promoted.