Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

Along with simplification of travelling processes due to the rise of low-cost airlines and easing of rigorous regimes of borders crossing for representatives of the vast majority of countries, there is also popular opinion that states the negative influence on countries with a lot of tourist sights. The main reason for such a situation with increasing of antitouristic opinions is the chaos tourists bring to streets of tourist places. Indeed, nobody would be satisfied, if they had to face overcrowded pathways on the round-the-clock basis for years. In addition, not all the tourists bother themselves to find out information about rules and laws local people live under. In result, unpleasant situations of the disturbing local pace of life might appear. Although the complete restriction of a tourist flow from certain destinations might seem as a good idea, yet there are less severe measures to change the negative attitude towards international tourism. One of those is to inform tourists about laws implemented in areas they go to. Moreover, not only official laws introduced by a government should be told, but also the rules of informal communication as well. These measures could prevent tourists from making mistakes and acting impolitely just due to the reason of not having enough knowledge about a country they are going to visit. At the same time such an action excludes the opportunity for breakings the law to be acquitted due to an actor’s lack of information. Summing up, negative opinions about international tourism can be justified. However, there are also ways to improve the situation via increasing of tourists’ awareness about local social attitudes.