The responsibility for protecting and reducing global environmental damage lies with politicians as there is very little that the individual can do this.

Nowadays, environment is becoming the hottest and most concerned global issue with many arguments about the responsibility for protecting and reduce environmental damage belonging to the authority or the individual. There is a statement that the politicians are responsible for resolving this problem, meanwhile, the citizens cannot do this. I am opposed to this statement because the environmental issue is just resolved completely with the accompanying of both. The role of the authorities in protecting the environment is introducing policies preventing non-eco-friendly activities. In many countries, especially in developed ones, governments have a law to limits the emissions from industrial activities. Moreover, they impose “green taxes” on products of many companies and some services such as travelling. Therefore, thanks to these policies, the amount of polluted gases is reduced and stable in the limitation. In addition, government campaigns can raise awareness of individuals about protecting the environment. In general, policies have strong positive effects on settling this big issue. That is not to say this responsibility only belongs to the politicians, meanwhile, the personal activities also have negative impacts on the environment. The individuals can protect the surroundings through many effective ways. Firstly, people may change their daily habits such as using organic foods replaced for chemical ones, recycling plastic items and using water and electricity economically. Using public transports instead of private ones is also a good way to reduce the emissions that individuals can do. These activities can reduce the amount of polluted substances released per day and preserve natural resources, therefore, play an important role in the environmental protection. Secondly, the consumers can show their roles in not buying any products of companies that are proven not eco-friendly, resulting in these company having to change the way of producing to more friendly with environment. Moreover, citizens may report to the authorities about activities causing pollution near their living areas. Conclusion, the responsibility for the environmental problems belongs to both the politicians and the individuals. In some cases, individuals do not have permissions enough to resolve problems so the role of government is necessary. That is not to say the government should be blame for totally, instead of that, people should change their habits to more eco-friendly.