People are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. Some people believe that advertising has a negative effect on people’s lives.

Nowadays, advertising is becoming one of the unavoidable parts of the modern life with the appearance of commercials being everywhere from physical advertisement such as flyer, brochure, magazine and newspaper to digital one known as pop-up ads on website, banners on the social networks. Although it is undeniable that those bring some benefits for consumers in providing about different products, I am an advocate for the statement that advertising makes an impact on people’s lives. It is the fact that commercial businesses create the advertisement for the only purpose, boosting their sales. To reach this target, firstly, they may use commercials with pretty images and attractive descriptions for their products. The appearance of celebrities or successful people featuring with their products aims to persuade people that buying them will make them happier, although sometimes it is not necessary and useful. The companies may exaggerate their product’s features to make people think that they have to purchase for using immediately. For example, many of dairy companies indicate that calcium in their milk helps children grow taller, therefore, there is a growing belief in many parents that their children only need to drink milk to be taller. Unfortunately, they do not know that some researches have shown that milk do not provide nutrients adequately for children aged more than 2 years old. Secondly, to approach the enormous number of people, companies advertise their products through many mediums such as radio, magazines, billboards, the Internet, newspapers, and most popularly, movies & television that degrades urban landscape, annoys the Internet users and disturbs TV audience. I doubt that you will be angry and tired if you see and watch the same ads of one product in all mediums for a long time. Thirdly, to search for potential consumers, the information of people may be collected from social networks for the advertising purpose. Therefore, for instance, the data of Facebook users have been always collected and analyzed for advertising, in other words, the user privacy have been attempted and private information is in a high risk for leakage. In general, advertising is likely a monster disturbing people’s mind and having many negative effects as well as some benefits so that it should be regulated and consumers should be more smarter.