The responsibility for protecting and reducing global environmental damage lies with politicians as there is very little that the individual can do this.

Those who champion formal examinations, be it written or practical, as the only effective assessment tool of the university student performance student performance believe that continuous assessment such as projects yield unreliable evaluations of student capability. I strongly disagree with this opinion for two reasons which will be elaborated as follows. Formal examinations, which only gauge how students perform in a given time, are a subjective measure of student performance. There are various contributors to test outcomes such as students well-being and weather conditions which may prevent test-takers from achieving their best selves under test conditions. Assume that a high-performing student whose car has a flat tire failed to arrive at the test venue and therefore, is prohibited from taking the examination. The most probable mark that he can obtain is 0%, since he is marked as non-attendee, which consolidates my belief that formal test is not an objective method to evaluate one’s learning. Course work and group projects can enhance one’s soft skills which are of paramount importance in the contemporary workplace. One is in no position to exclude himself from interacting with others in a team project, thereby forcing him to communicate, deal with arising problems, mediate a conflict which hinders a group’s progress. These encounters will gradually, but surely establish a concrete foundation for soft skill to improve, thanks to which one can become a perfect applicant for forthcoming job opportunities. In conclusion, while formal exams cannot impartially measure students’ educational progress, ongoing assessments, on the contrary, are fairer, and capable of nurturing soft skills. Lest university graduates become insufficiently prepared for future work, group projects and coursework should be at the heart of tertiary education.