The recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of high street shops.

In the last ten years, the number of shopping transactions carried out online has increased dramatically. However. Despite this growth. I do not believe there is any reason to believe that traditional shops are under threat in any way. First, online retailers are not actually that much cheaper than traditional shops once you factor in all the extra costs. Some people predict the death of the high street because shops like Amazon and Alibaba often sell goods more cheaply than traditional retailers. While this may sometimes be true, I would argue that after you have added the cost of shipping. There is often very little difference in price between the two. Furthermore, if you need to return the goods for some reason, then you may be liable for the cost of re-shipping the item back to the supplier and, hence, you could actually end up being out of pocket. Another factor is convenience. Although it is undeniable that ordering from home is more comfortable than going to a shopping centre, very often when consumers purchase items, they generally need to use them right away. This is particularly true of every day items such as food and household goods. If there is the choice between walking 10 minutes to a store, or waiting 24 hours for delivery. Then the local store will always win. Finally, online retailers can never offer the same retail experience as shops. When you buy online, you have to rely on the accuracy of either a written description or a photo to make your purchasing choice. Obviously, this cannot compare to the experience of entering a shop and physically seeing and touching the product. For instance, no computer programme can replicate the feeling of actually trying on a shirt to see how it fits. Moreover, people still tend to like being helped in their decision-making processes by a shop assistant, especially when they are buying expensive electrical items that may be confusing to operate and understand. In conclusion, the fact that the high street shop is no more expensive than their online equivalents, and they offer a better in-shop experience means I believe that they are in no danger of disappearing soon.