The recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of high street shops.

Thanks to globalization and the advent of the internet, online shopping has become increasingly popular in most parts of the world. However, I disagree that this recent popularity of online shops will lead to the closure of high street shops for three reasons. The attraction for online shopping pales in comparison with the social and physical benefits that come with going to traditional shops. Shopping in high street stores is a good way of socializing with friends and family. They can get together and go to shops, which might prove useful as this activity could reduce stress and improve the bonds. Moreover, this get-together might be a free physical activity for people who are overwhelmed with their jobs since shoppers need to move from one store to another to find the most suitable clothes or other products. Another reason why I think that traditional shops remain has to do with the economy. High street shops, which pay tax to the government, employ a number of people, who also pay income tax to the state. In contrast, when shopping online, one does not have to pay tax or this tax is usually smaller. For this reason, the popularity of online shops does not impact the existence of high street shops. Finally, the recent prevalence of global online shops has brought about environmental concerns. When shipping the large quantities of goods using air, sea and road transportation, this way of delivering the products to their consumers results in severe damage to the environment. That said, some people could argue that shoppers can buy a wide variety of quality products at reasonable prices using online shopping. I would, however, argue that this little financial benefit is costing a lot at the expense of harm to the atmosphere. In conclusion, not only is shopping in high street stores good for socializing, but this way of shopping is also helping to stimulate the economy. Although online shops are convenient and less time-consuming, they are having a detrimental effect on the environment. Therefore, I disagree that high street shops will disappear in the future.