The recent popularity of online shopping will result in the end of high street shops.

Shopping is an act of joy and happiness for people of all ages and gender. With the advancement of technology and access to internet, Online shopping has made this much easier for the buyers without even stepping out of the homes. It is often argued that the end result of internet shopping would result in a major loss for the street shops. Though there is a slight possibility of this happening, however I do not agree completely. Firstly, online shopping saves time by bringing a variety of options on a single platform unlike street shops. There is no need to travel and check out different stores in extreme weather conditions, especially for people who do not find time to go and shop due to the busy schedules at work. Secondly, it is much easier to compare or customise the designs, colours, cost along with the option of returning if there is a change of mind or difference in size. It is a good option for the local designers to reach a wide range of customers without investing in setting up a physical shop that includes a lot of money. Even the street fashion is a trending thing on the internet where people, especially look for designs of a specific place or culture. Lastly, there is more diversity in online shopping where people do not have to restrict themselves to shop within their region or nation. Shipping provides a much simplified user experience by delivering products to our homes. This provides high streets an opportunity to reach the other end of the country instead of confining themselves to the streets. On the contrary, the concept of online shopping might be a nightmare for few where the expectations do not meet the reality. Putting aside the option of refunds and returns, it is a discouragement for a customer to wait eagerly and to be left with disappointment. Although the intention is to provide a user friendly customer experience, the technical issues, poor quality of the products and slow delivery highlights the inefficiency and negligence. Companies like Amazon and E-bay are achieving massive profits where as the local designers and other stakeholders are receiving limited profits. In summary, It is important to supervise the hierarchy of processing of products from the buyer to the seller for the benefit of all business groups. In my opinion, online shopping has a high potential to support the high street shops unless it is profit-oriented.