THERE SEEMS TO BE AN INCREASING NUMBER OF SERIOUS CRIMES COMMITTED EACH YEAR. WHILE SOME THINK THE BEST WAY IS TO USE THE DEATH PENALTY AS A DETERRENT, MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT OTHER MEASURE WILL BE NEEDED.

Annually, criminal activities have been skyrocketing by leaps and bounds. Some people think that introducing corporal punishment would deter such acts, whereas, vast majority propose that other corporal measures should be adopted. This essay will provide a concrete discussion on both viewpoints. On the one hand, the proponents of death penalty have asserted that such ideology would be an ultimate way to terminate crime, as this would discourage individuals from committing such folly conducts. Take, for instance, the Mosaic Law found in the Bible. One of the laws states that anyone who commits murder must be stoned to death. As a result, the Israelites, who were the inhabitants of the land, avoided anything that could lead to their untimely death. In addition, a recent law in China also points that anyone caught in illegal drug business shall be killed by hanging, and this has prompted people to avoid such business deals. On the other hand, the antagonists give preference to the use of techniques, like, imprisonment, induced hard labor, and other forms of social services, since they viewed instant death sentence as a harsh treatment. Moreover, they claim that serious offences can, at times, be done unknowingly, and this could be obvious from someone who committed murder while trying to self-defend himself. To illustrate the success rate of these strategies, Ghana has recorded about 57 percent reduction in violent acts over the past 5 years. In conclusion, penalizing hoodlums is fully dependent on the gravity of the act, and there ought to be some consequences of such behaviors. Therefore, an appropriate measure must be put in place on whether to incorporate less severe strategies, or to sentence the culprit to death immediately.