The qualities or skills that a person requires to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or any other academic institution. Top what extent

Whether government or individuals should fund higher study has become a controversial issue. While some individuals consider that it is the responsibility of the governing bodies, other argue that an individual must be able to meet his study expenses. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in depth. I, however, opine that governments should allocate certain funds for professional degrees. According to the first view, it is the onus on the authorities to provide help to the people for their tertiary study. Since there are innumerable students who are living below the poverty line and their parents cannot afford to pay plenty of money to the educational institutions, therefore in order to reduce the burden from the parents' shoulders, it is quite essential to fund the students' education. For instance, in my country, India, where there are thousands of people residing in poverty, the state is providing scholarships to the economically backward students. In short, for the continuous development and progress of the nation administration must allow funds to those who are pursuing higher education. On the contrary, a vast majority of people are in favour of the perspective that it is the personal responsibility to earn money instead of depending on the government. They might think that it helps in making a better and responsible citizen. Because if a person earn for a living, then he will be able to interact with the social world, which in turn, enhances the knowledge. To cite an example, students who pursue jobs during their studies get more grades than their peers who do not work part-time jobs while pursuing an education. . Thus it is appropriate to let the students bear their expenditure so that they can be made aware about the entire society. To conclude, although society is divided on the issue of allocating funds by the ruling bodies, I personally consider that for university courses such as Bachelor and Master degrees an individual should give fees, but for professional degrees, such as, PhD, government should be held responsible. In the above paragraphs contrasting views of distinct sections have been discussed.