The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or any other academic institution.

Today, there are diverse skills and qualities which foster success in any person’s chosen path. Some people argue that such skills and qualities cannot be learnt at a university or any other academic institution. In my opinion, some skills must be learnt at an academic university while others can be developed without an academic influence. We must acknowledge that in order to be successful in certain career fields, a background university education is a prerequisite. In the medical industry, medical doctors are required to spend a number of years in the tertiary institution gaining background knowledge which is critical to attaining a thriving medial career. It is currently impossible to obtain a medical license as a practicing doctor without an education in medicine. Nevertheless, there are some skills which drive success that are not gained in a university. Certain skills such as diligence, honestly, being innovative, disciplined and assertiveness are usually developed during a person’s career. It is more often than not built through career experiences and once mastered, will foster success and meritorious rewards. For example, an individual who is innovative and diligent will be perceived as a personal of value which will lead to rapid career growth. Therefore, I will opine that whether a skill or quality can be learnt in a university will depend on the type of skills and the career path. Success can be attained through a vast number of skills and qualities developed in and out of the university. In conclusion, this essay has shown that the skills required to be successful are vast and can be learnt in and out of the university.