With a growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.

Some people think that using gene technology for food production can help feed a growing number of people in the modern world. While I believe that genetically engineered food is not without risks, I agree that it is a feasible way to provide enough food for the increasing world population. To begin with, genetically modified products might carry risks both for people and the environment. Indeed, to be introduced to the market GMOs must undergo a meticulous evaluation to ensure that they do not have any indirect effects on human health. However, developing countries, where population is growing especially fast, might not be willing to spend a lot of time on the research or might not have enough funding for it. As a result, genetically engineered food they release onto the market may have indirect health effects such as allergic reactions. Furthermore, producing GMOs can lead to introducing engineered genes into wild population thus causing the loss of biodiversity in nature. On the other hand, using recombinant DNA technology has perceived advantages that make the food more accessible. Firstly, genetically engineered food has more nutritional value compared to conventional food. Therefore, people need to consume less food to stay well-fed and healthy. Secondly, genetically modified species can have better resistance against plant diseases or certain climates. Consequently, producers have fewer expenses on herbicides and maintenance so the products are cheaper for the consumers, which is extremely important in the case of areas facing the problem of hunger. To summarize, although GM foods can be risky and must be introduced only after rigorous evaluation, since they are cheaper and more nutritious, they can make feeding the growing world population possible.