All museums and art galleries should be free because they are an important part of a country's culture. How far

It is often said that cultural institutions including museums as well as art galleries are crucial to a nation’s culture. Therefore, they should offer free admission to their visitors. Personally, I partly agree with this view and will give my reasons below. On the one hand, I agree that museums and galleries should abandon entrance fees since this would encourage more people to visit them, and enjoy their collections. Museums and galleries house artworks or artefacts of great educational, and historical value. Thus, it is nearly impossible for most visitors to exit a museum, or a gallery without gaining any information or understanding. Take for example war museums in my city, Ho Chi Minh City. These museums are home to worthwhile exhibits through which visitors can be given in-depth knowledge of Vietnamese military history and wars the country witnessed in the past. Therefore it would be a huge shame if many people could not see their collections because their finances could not cover the cost. Nevertheless, I feel that it would be wrong to avoid charging visitors for several reasons. Firstly, it is not impossible for many museums and galleries to cease to exist without revenue received from ticket sales. This is because running places of culture often involves a wide variety of operational expenses such as utility bills, employee salaries, maintenance fees, and so on. Secondly, an admission charge could badly affect attendance figures but it would provide visitors with positive experiences during their visit. For example, an overcrowded museum would make it difficult for many real art-lovers to push through the throngs of people let alone admire pieces of art. By contrast, a less crowded museum may enable more museum-goers to stand, and take in artworks at ease. In conclusion, while free entrance could give more people the opportunity to enjoy works of art and learn valuable lessons from them, I am convinced that museums, and art galleries should charge an entrance fee for the sake of operation, and visitors’ experiences.