The proportion of British students at one university in England who were able to speak other languages in addition to English, 2000 and 2010.

Some people believe that advertisements lead people to buy the same products, and thus finally have the same look. Personally, I disagree with this notion, and in this essay I will discuss my reasons. Firstly, although advertising is a great power to affect people's general taste, there are many other factors that can influence people's decisions to buy different products. One of these factors is culture and traditions. For example, in Egypt, people in urban cities do not usually buy the same products, regarding clothes for instance, as those in the country. Moreover, another factor affecting this process is personal finances of individuals. To explain more, wealthy people generally opt to buy highly expensive products that keep them fashionable and elegant, which may not be affordable to the poor. Thus, eventually, people would never look the same at least in terms of these items. Secondly, nowadays advertising has been providing people with many choices to select from. Due to the high competence that is present among companies, we can notice the massive variation of products in the market. Most firms realize that if the products they are advertising were not characteristic and distinctive from others, they would have a great loss and would not be able to compete anymore. This is why people usually have many options regarding most products, which would reflect on the variation amongst people. In conclusion, I am convinced that advertisements would never cause people to have the same looks. On the contrary, I believe that they give people more options to choose from according to their different tastes and backgrounds.