The promoters of social media claim that they are connecting people and enabling people to share like never before. While critics claim that social media site often impinges upon one’s privacy.

Social networking platform endorsers think that they are allowing public to connect and share the information better. However, others believe that these sites generally have negative impact on people’s privacy. In my opinion, I consider that online communication helps people to enhance their skills by sharing their interests. On the one hand, some media promoters think that networking platforms are effectively helping people to communicate and share their information with others from all over the world and I agree. The reason for this is that these websites are facilitating platforms to connect with family, friends and acquaintances who are residing in alien lands. For instance, sites such as Facebook, Google have both audio and video calling options which enables public to call world-wide. Furthermore, group forums allows sharing of common interests which can be helpful to enhance one’s skills. As a result, some people may end up with lucrative jobs in their respective fields. On the other hand, it is often believed that privacy is the major concern while using the communication platforms. As people are sharing too much of personal information, online predators are hacking their emails to hold them for ransom. Moreover, cyber bulling has become pressing issue. Any non-familiar persons can pester with intimidating comments on a profile and this can have debilitating effect on that account holder’s image. For example, recently Aishwaraya rai, a famous celebrity has been body shamed on Twitter when she posted her post pregnancy photographs. Therefore, posting private details on public platforms can be detrimental. In conclusion, while there is divergence of opinion regarding social media sites, I think that they are benefitting people with their features to effectively connect and share details if they can take necessary safety measures and avoid sharing private details.