Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate. What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages?

It is considered by some that online communication is removing the geographical barriers, and people can interact with others, which was not possible without it. There are certain benefits and drawbacks to this trend. There are few positive aspects of global communication. To begin with, people could come to know about the culture and traditions of people residing in other countries. It is not feasible for many to travel long distance and make themselves familiar to the culture of other people; hence, interacting with others through online source such as internet give a chance to them to acquire the knowledge about other pupil’s traditions, by engaging and interacting with them. Another advantage is that international communication is much productive in terms of education. Many people in less develop countries need to attained information regarding the education system of the universities of developed nations, which can be acquired through interacting with the personals of international universities. This, in turn, means they can go for their desired university for education by this means. A recent report by the Online Education System, for instance, revealed a study that 90% students get enrolled into an international universities, by first acquiring information online from people living in the host country. There are also some downsides of this trend. Firstly, individuals communicating online can come across fake people. The world of the internet is so gigantic that it is arduous to know who is real. People can be easily indulged by others in some bad activity, which can be detrimental for their personality and character. Research from Michigan University, for example, conducted a study that out of 100, 45 people get involved in false identity relationships in the online world. Secondly, interacting to other internationally can be detrimental to the people’s own culture and traditions. They may get involved excessively in knowing about other people lifestyle, and can forget or dislike their own culture. A study from the World Social Organization, as an illustration, showed that Asian people easily adopted the Western culture and not follow much their own way of life, when they communicate to people from developed countries. In conclusion, it is true that online international communication has remove the obstacles people were facing, and enables them to interact. This trend is beneficial in terms of knowing people’s lifestyle and education; however, there are negative aspects such as meeting fake persons and abandoning own culture.