In some countries, prisons are the most common solution to crimes. However, some others believe that education is a more effective solution.

Opinions differ as to whether tourism facilitates or deteriorates cultures and customs. While to a certain extent, tourism somehow brings traditions to a wider range of audience, I would argue that it causes more harm than good. Mass tourism, with huge investments diverted into development, advertising and propagation, has made indigenous customs, several of which were formerly alien and unpopular, known to people around the world. Once a small local festival that were formerly restricted to only tribal peoples, the Cong Chieng carnival in the middle part of Vietnam has greatly emerged to become a ubiquitous tourist trap, with influxes of Vietnamese and foreigners flocking to the place every year. Nevertheless, I believe such popularity is just superficial. A custom known by a lot of people does not necessarily mean a well-preserved one. All too often, tourism brings in its wake bland cultural uniformity, or even worse, cultural assimilation. It is not rare to see tribal people, adults and children alike, get rid of their traditional attires for modern, Westernised ones worn by tourists. Many hotels, resorts and spas have also been erected every year, encroaching on the areas where there once were villages, altars and ritual meetings. Additionally, the disgusting hands of tourism moguls have reached out to even the remotest areas, tempting indigenous people to work for them with promises of higher salary and a better life. As a consequence, the number of ethnic peoples has greatly shrunk in recent years, with many ethnic minorities being declared non-existent. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that profit-oriented tourism, despite the fact that it may bring customs to more people, is a cultural catastrophe. Tourism can only go in harmony with cultures as long as it is developed in a sustainable manner.