Some people think that being able to communicate online is breaking geographical barriers and enabling people, who would never have the chance to meet, communicate online. What are the advantages of international communications? Are there any disadvantages too?

In this era of internet and technology, some people believe that strangers interacting online is removing international barriers by creating social networks beyond borders. These communications does enable people to share their experiences with foreigners but could also lead them away from their loved ones. To begin with the positives, a crucial advantage of having web communities is the sharing of knowledge. People from various fields like doctors, engineers and architects can collaborate their learnings and help each other to tackle situations constructively. For example, with high-speed internet, nowadays doctors are assisting emergencies remotely, saving hundreds of lives. Another vital outcome of this advancement is raising awareness among people. In the absence of this worldwide communication, new inventions were only accessible to the local neighbourhood and not the world, and now with the help of social network platforms, talents get recognized worldwide. Nevertheless, international communication does impose the problem of disconnection from the real world. To illustrate, millennials are spending more time staring at their phone screen, and chatting online than to talk with people beside them. This is resulting in weak real-life social bonds and friendships. In addition to the disadvantage of living in the virtual world, internet communities can also spread fake news which can harm peoples lives. To illustrate this point, some people deliberately post incorrect information on popular social websites about celebrities to arouse hatred among their fans. These kind of false allegations could ruin someones carrier and pride and put them in mental stress. In conclusion, although people are gaining more insights about topics and getting recognized worldwide through international collaboration, it is important to consider that it can harm family and friends interactions and can aid unethical procedures to demolish someones hard work.