The present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, many countries comprise a higher proportion of younger people than elderly people. This growing trend has associated benefits and drawbacks. However, this essay argues that the positive implications of this phenomenon outweigh the negative one. Firstly, this essay will demonstrate how the primary advantage associated with the skills of the younger population significantly contribute to the rise in the economy of any nation, and later, analyse how the major disadvantage, the sketchy knowledge about history and culture among youngsters hold less weight. The younger people play an important role in the economic development of any country. This is due to the fact that younger generation is comparatively dynamic, smart, healthy and more productive than the older generation. The adults of this century are highly educated, competent and skilful in various fields of technology, such as engineering and medical. Therefore, it is irrefutable to say that our youthful generation is the active workforce and contribute a major part to lift the economy. In addition to this, the government collect major percentage of tax from the young people and this tax is invested in various development tasks. For instance, the report generated by the Income Tax Department of India clearly shows that 70% of the taxpayers are from the age group of 28-40. Despite these advantages, the new generation lacks cultural and ethical values. Most of the adults have limited historical knowledge and are disrespectful. This is because of the fact that there is merely no elderly member in modern families and as a result, the youngsters nowadays do not get an opportunity to learn these values from the behaviour, experience and knowledge of the old people. Though old people are well-experienced, I feel that these senior citizens are dependent on younger one or government facilities, such as pension schemes for their financial needs. Moreover, due to health-related issues at such an old age, this group cannot contribute that much to the growth of a country as a younger group do. Therefore, I believe that the overall role our younger people play for the development of the country cannot be overlooked. To conclude with the arguments given above, I firmly believe that the advantages of having an increased ratio of younger population outweigh the disadvantages. Even though, there are some positive aspects of having an older population that we should consider.