The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It is a fact that the role of women in the family and in the community has remarkably changed in the past two decades. Although several individuals have considered it a positive development, others think that it can lead to a serious problem for children, since they are getting less attention from their mothers who are mostly engaged at work. To a certain extent, I would agree with the statement. Mothers know the importance of allotting time for their children, so why do they often more time at work and neglect their children? To commence with, discussing other people’s arguments, they say that work engagements of the mother will never affect their children’s behavior. They say that children will understand the situation that they have to work to provide for their family. However, I opposed the said statement, because as well know, career women will have less time for their children. They have to leave home early in the morning, while their children are still sleeping in, and arrive back at night when they have been asleep. As result, they have lesser time for their family and children left alone at home. People also say that there are alternative ways of supervising children such as hiring maids or asking a relative to look after them while they have work commitments. I also disagree with this view because most children will never accept this. If this will happen, they become more depressed or stressed due to a lack of attention from their mothers which can possibly result in criminal activities to obtain attention. Furthermore, children usually aim for the awareness of their mothers despite having guardians. They tend to portray unusual behavior changes such as being naughty or growing up as a spoiled brat. In fact, children do not commonly follow their housemaid who looks after them, because they have the mentality that they are paid and no other relationship can connect them. What is more, the feeling of abandoned or neglected will question their self-worth which consequently leads to juvenile delinquencies in the future. To summarize, it is certain that many women have become indulge to wok these days, and some people think that the trend has caused some problems for the children. To a certain level, I would agree with that notion, because I believe that the mother is the most perfect one that guides and provide nourishment to their children. Can you afford to see a child be on the wrong path just because they often feel taken for granted and questioned their self of belongings? Precisely not!