The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

Many believe that as the field of tourism expands, English will become the universal language being spoken across the world. There are many advantages and disadvantages to be considered of having a prominent language that dominates the whole planet. One of the benefits of having a globally spoken language is to have easier communication for everyone. For example, tourists will be able to travel to other countries and communicate with the locals without the need for a dictionary or translator. In addition, they can easily travel to their desired locations by asking directions in English and not fear of miscommunication. Having a universal language will also promote equality due to the fact that everyone would be using the same language and there will be no discrimination between people who speaks in a different language. There are also disadvantages to having English as the only language in the world. Language is considered as a type of culture that a country has in which makes the nation unique. The loss of a country’s dialect or their unique first language will lead to a shrink in diversity. Furthermore, the loss of many dialects and languages will severely lessen job availabilities. For instance, translators will be forced to lose their jobs because translations will not be necessary anymore. Although having one language in the world can provide convenience to the public and also promote equality between different nations, the universal language will decrease the diversity and unique culture that a country has and also reduces the available occupations for people.