Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV.

Many people derive pleasures from different series of activities. It is argued by some people that studying at ones leisure time can progress imaginative thinking and phonetic skills rather than watching television programs. In my opinion, I agree with this statement, because this helps improve mental development as well as learn new vocabularies. Firstly, reading a book for fun can help grow a strong imiginative and language skills as it sharpens the readers mental state. In other words, books such as articles, novels, magazines, and journals improves the sharpness of the brain as it is constantly engaged in educative activities. Since this activity is one that involves imagination of events, thus, the chances of creating pictorial visuals in the mind is high. For instance, the readers association in Lagos state wrote the best writeup on mental health challenges in 2018. Consequently, this fun book reading process aids an effective mental development of the brain. Another point to consider is that this also helps learn new words and vocabularies. The skill of langauge is greatly improved when a book is read, such that unfamiliar words are checked in the dictionary which increases self confidence when speaking. For example, many people that enjoy reading always have a beautiful command of languages which includes both spoken and written. Thus, many modern and up to date word formation are learnt when reading for pleasure. In conclusion, free time reading assist in imaginative and langauge skills better than viewing the television because this improves mental health and help acquire more structures of language.