Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into University difficult.

It is often argued that students are finding difficult to get into universities, irrespective of their financial status. This essay disagrees with the suggestion because it ignores the background and upbringing situation of less affluent individuals. This essay will look into some of the factors that make it difficult for people with less means to into universities. Poor families do not have access to private education, as opposed to families with affluent background. Rich families can afford to send their children to private schools which have better resources to educate and train their pupil. Whereas families with limited resources usually settle on public schools where their children receive sub-par or inadequate education. For example, private schools would spend resources on physical and mental training of their pupil as well as their interpersonal skill, in contrast, public school, due to their limited resources, only focus on the academic training of their pupil. Students from affluent backgrounds also enjoy the leisure of exposure of their liking, whereas students from less fortunate families spend their free time either saving money by staying home or making money by working part-time. Students from affluent background have exposure to a lot of extracurricular activities which helps them discover their strengths and weaknesses early on in their lives, while individuals from poor families would spend their time working part-time jobs to save money for their education or supporting their families. For example, an individual from high net worth family would spend time exploring Europe or Africa to prepare for their lives ahead of time, an individual from a low net worth family would be working a minimum wage job in Mc-Donald’s to support their upcoming university expenditures. In conclusion people with lower levels of socioeconomic classes find it much more difficult to find their way into universities, even when they have the same academic aptitude just because the people with levels of society were able to afford better education and exposure towards life at the beginning.