The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The increased prevalence of obesity in children over the past decade has given rise to several problems in the western society. This essay will examine the main reasons behind this trend and the consequences of childhood obesity on the mental and physical health of the young generation. One of the major factors responsible for the rising numbers of overweight children in the west is the faulty dietary habits. This is because the parents nowadays have busier schedules and have less time for cooking, often resorting to readymade foods, which are not as nutritious as freshly prepared meals. As a result, junk foods like burgers, pizzas and aerated drinks, which are readily available as well as affordable, have become more popular. These foods are often very high in carbohydrates and fats, leading to excessive weight gain. Another contributing factor for this trend is more sedentary lifestyle. Earlier children used to spend more time playing outdoors, however, over the past decade, this trend has changed and kids nowadays often spend more time in indoor activities like video games and internet. Thus reduced physical activity has contributed to the rise in childhood obesity. Being overweight has numerous detrimental effects on physical and mental health of children. There is higher risk of developing chronic health problems like diabetes mellitus and hypertension at earlier age. In fact, statistics have shown an upward trend in the incidence of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus in young adults which was earlier known to have its onset in later years of life. Obesity negatively affects the mental wellbeing, especially in adolescent years. This is because being overweight can lead to negative self-image, low self-esteem and therefore, loss of confidence in children. Furthermore, there are increased chances of being bullied and social isolation at school, sometimes leading to depression in early years. In conclusion, the alarming trend of increase in overweight children over the past 10 years is mainly due to poor eating habits and lack of physical activity. This can lead to serious long term adverse consequences to the overall health of our young generation and thus, it needs to be addressed on an urgent basis.