The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

There is no doubt that the number of young adults who suffers from weight problems has increased substantially in the last decade. This situation not only is related to several reasons, but also it has detrimental consequences in children’s future and wellbeing as well. One of the main causes that contributes to children’s obesity is the consumption of poor diet. In other words, fast food or ready meals which are high in carbohydrates and low in proteins are being increasingly used in many families. To make things worse, there are a number of parents who resort to consuming this type of diet because they are not equipped with sufficient knowledge regarding the side effects of junk foods. Another significant reason is the lack of physical activities. It is believed that the younger generation is less active compared to their grandparents, and less involved in sport activities, thus becoming more vulnerable to weight problems. Turning to the effects of this trend, the most obvious of which may be health diseases. This is mainly because the overweight children are often fully exposed to several disease, including diabetes, cardiovascular issues and mental problems as well. To illustrate this point, a recent study being performed in the UK suggests that there is a strong link between gaining weight and heath complications, especially during childhood. Not only this, but an additional consequence is often seen in our mental and physical health. So, if children perform less exercises, they will increase their stress levels and curtail their happiness, therefore triggering isolation and anxieties. In conclusion, despite being a new issue, this obesity rate is rising constantly in the past years due to the scarcity of consuming a healthy diet and exercises, and its consequences can put our mental and physical health in serious jeopardy.