The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Children are the beautiful creation of God and parents are like gardeners. Children's upbringing is both rewarding as well as challenging experience. They are like which requires molding effectively. Some analysts argue that the percentage of obese children in western countries has increased by 20% in the last few years. The causes and effects of the problem are outlined below. To begin with, there are several causes for the increase in the number of obese children in western countries. Firstly, lack of home food for children to buy junk food. This is because of the busy lifestyle of parents who do not have time to prepare healthy food at home. Secondly, technological advancements in western countries have made children lazy and lethargic. Children are becoming sluggish and doing less physical work. To illustrate this, a recent survey in America shows that about 60% of the obese children play video games instead of outdoor games. Finally, due to the high income level of parents, children want to buy a variety of food item. Moreover, children do not eat food moderately due to which they increase their weight. On the other hand, there are some effects of this problem. Firstly, obese children become lazy and lethargic. They do not participate in outdoor games and activities. Secondly, overweight children don't have a rich life as they are ignored by their friends and relatives. Finally, obesity in children will lead to various health diseases like cancer etc. In conclusion, there are various causes and effects of obesity in children. The busy schedule of parents and unhealthy lifestyle of children in western countries are the major causes for rise in the number of overweight children.