The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the last decade, obesity in young children has been one of the most alarming concerns around the world. Children mostly in developed countries are more prone to being overweight and less fit which leads to many behavior disorders and might have fatal consequences in the long run. This essay will discuss the causes of being overweight and how it affects the upbringing of young children. There are a number of causes that have led to this disturbing trend, but the main causes are increased consumption of junk food and less supervision by parents on the use of technology. In recent years, the food industry has grown tremendously. New types of snacks and dishes which are mostly fried and having unhealthy sauces are prevalent among children of different age groups. Consumption of such foods on a daily basis has led to an increase in obesity levels by 20% among children. Moreover, parents are busy with their work and jobs, which leaves a kid no option other than to get distracted by, mobile phones or computers leading to a sedentary behavior. A survey conducted by the Health Ministry in Australia stated that parents who do not give enough time to their offspring are more prone to being obese. The effects of the above-mentioned causes would also affect a youngster physically and psychologically. If a child is overweight, he could be teased by his classmates, which would only demotivate him and put him into depression. Such type of effect would not only lead to a less confident youngster but also make him less socialized. In real-time, for instance, many obese children are bullied by their colleagues. Other than that, they become less active and attract more lifestyle disorder diseases like high blood pressure or diabetes. To conclude, obesity is a lifestyle disorder and can be avoided if proper supervision and guidance are provided to young children by their parents and teachers. Its causes and effects can have a huge impact on a kid’s upbringing.