The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity in children has always been a major cause of concern. The western world has witnessed a rise of 20 % in children who are overweight over the past decade or so. This essay will discuss some of the causes of this disturbing trend and examine the possible consequences of the same. The main cause of this problem is poor diet. Over the last decade there has been a prolific increase in the number of fast food restaurants. For example, on nearly every street there is a MacDonald’s, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Pizza Hut. The food in these places has been proven to be very unhealthy, and much of the advertising is targeted at children, thus ensuring that they constitute the bulk of the clientele of these food chains. However, it is not Only due to eating out, but also the type of food many children have at home. A lot of foodstuff consumed is processed food, especially with regards to ready-made meals which are a quick and easy option for parents who are working hard. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, there has been a large increase in health related diseases amongst children, especially diabetes. This incapacitating illness means a kid has to be injected with insulin for the rest of their life. Not only this, very overweight children often experience harassment from other children, which may affect their mental health. In several cases, the negative dishonour of being overweight may also affect the child’s sense of worth. To sum up, it is evident that there are several causes of obesity amongst children, and a variety of negative effects. Society must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from deteriorating further.