Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time.

Given that computers and information technology are a crucial part of the modern world, it makes sense that children can acquire some valuable skills from playing electronic games. However, simply using technology to play games is not necessarily a productive use of time. One of the main benefits for young people playing computer games is that is can enhance their hand-eye coordination and spatial awareness (How? ). In a video game, the player often has to move the character around to avoid enemies and obstacles and this develops a child’s ability to use their hands, eyes, and also grow their strategic skills. ” Moreover, many computer games can have an educational component, which means that a game can be fun but still teach the child something useful (Example? ). For example, instead of learning arithmetic from a textbook, primary school children can learn to count with a shooting game where they increase their score by “shooting” the correct answer. This makes education more interactive and exciting for young learners. On the other hand, it must be admitted that educational games are not the first choice of children. Normally, they want to play something that is more action-packed or something they can play online with their friends. Explosions and violence are more attractive than playing maths games, and children will be drawn to them rather than their studies. Furthermore, computer games require very little physical activity. A lack of exercise among young people is leading to an increase in childhood obesity and related diseases. Sitting insides all day, also hinders a child’s ability to build their social skills and become confident in the real world. Overall, playing computer games can help a child to gain some useful life skills and knowledge. Nevertheless, this is not guaranteed. Playing electronic games in moderation is fine, but life skills must be learned from all areas of life.