Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

In recent years, delaying of childbirth is a growing trend which couples are making the decision to have children later in their married life compared to the traditional concept. It poses threats to several countries. This essay will discuss driving forces behind this phenomenon and its possible effects on families and society. One of the principal reasons for this trend is the competitive labour market. It is a norm that young parents delay having children to concentrate the whole time in the first years on their employment to lay a firm foundation about finance. So, they can ensure that their children will have a good life in the future. Besides, this trend allows some them to have more time to enjoy life together when they are young. For instance, when they do not have a baby to nurture, it is easier for a young couple to travel around the world and do everything which they like. And, they also take a chance to work in another country at the same time. As the result of this, it is not too difficult to guess. Firstly, regarding to families, having children when reaching over 35 can affect pregnancy due to aging health. Consequently, babies are not healthy enough or even die premature death. Additionally, having children later will cause a significant age gap between two generations. This makes it harder for parents to understand and communicate with their offspring. On the other hand, if they choose the delaying of childbirth, a country will have enough qualified manpower to work. However, in the long-term falling fertility rates will mean an aging population with a lack of young people to work. To sum up, there are some reasons why many people prefer to have children later in their life and this tendency can have a number of impacts, both positive and negative for family life and society.