The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Undoubtedly, the percentage of overweight children has risen by 20 percent in western society. There are several causes which played a role in this. Also, there are a number of effects of being overweight. This essay will briefly discuss the main reasons and provide some consequences of these problems. For a start, the obvious cause for increasing in children’s weight is unhealthy feed. For instance, this food (such as pizza, chips or soft drinks) has a high amount of calories, fat and sugar. Besides, in western countries, on nearly every high street there are many fast food stores such as KFC, Burger King or Pizza Hut. They have been growing excessively and attracting children’s attention because of their advertisements. So, overeating of such food would increase the child’s weight. Moreover, children do not give time to participate in outdoor activities instead of watching TV or playing computer games which lead sedentary lifestyles/ a sedentary lifestyle and they will become overweight. Added to this, there are 3 main negative effects of increasing children’s overweight. Firstly, they may catch some diseases such as high blood pressure and diabetes. It becomes commonly in the young age and threatens the later life of obese children. Secondly, these children can be bullied at school by others, which may effect on their mental health like stress, insomnia or depression. Besides, in young children, obesity can affect the bone system, typically the O-shaped leg condition. This proves us that being obese could lead to a lot or negative effects. In conclusion, lack of exercise and unhealthy food led to increase obesity in children, especially in western countries. They may influence the development of children. So, society should diminish this problem to prevent it from deteriorating further.