The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In recent years, Western societies have seen close to a 20% rise in the number of children with high body weight. This essay will discuss some causes and consequences of childhood overweight. The main cause of childhood overweight is poor diet. Over the last decade, there has been a prolific increase in the number of fast food restaurants. For example, on nearly every high street there is a MacDonald’s, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Pizza Hut. The dishes in these places have been proven to be very unhealthy, and much of the advertising is targeted at children, thus ensuring that they constitute the bulk of the customers of these establishments. However, it is not only due to eating out, but also the type of diet many children have at home. A lot of meals consumed is processed food, especially with regards to ready-made meals which are a quick and easy option for parents who are working hard. As a result, the effects of childhood overweight are both physical and mental. Considering the effects on the body, there have been a large increase in health related diseases amongst children, especially diabetes, which is a debilitating illness that requires lifelong theraphy with insulin injections. Considering the mind effects, the negative stigma of having a high Body Mass Index may also affect self-esteem. As an example, most recent research shows that obese children often experience bullying from their school mates, which may affect their psychology. To sum up, it is evident that there are several causes of overweight amongst children, and a variety of negative effects. Society must ensure steps are taken to prevent this problem from deteriorating further.