The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this trend. Remember to write in a formal style, and

Childhood obesity has increased sharply in Western countries in the last decade. This trend is largely the result of a tendency towards convenience in society; however, its effects can be detrimental to the long-term physical and mental health of children. The prime causes of obesity are unhealthy eating habits and a sedentary lifestyle. In recent years, there has been an increase in the consumption of convenience foods among modern families. Busy parents with no time to cook rely on ready-made meals to feed their families. Such foods have little or no nutritional value, which can contribute to obesity. In addition, many children nowadays spend an excessive amount of time playing video games rather than playing outside with friends, which leads to insufficient daily physical activity. For example, studies show that children in France exercise on average about 20 minutes a day, compared to 75 minutes 30 years ago. The possible effects of the increase in childhood obesity are a range of health issues. With regard to physical health, it is known that diseases such as type-2 diabetes and high blood pressure are higher in overweight children than in their peers. These endanger the life of a child and may later affect his mental health. When children are overweight, they are also more likely to be bullied and ostracized by their classmates because they look different or behave differently. This can lead them to avoid friends in favor of time alone, thus leading to low self-esteem and depression. In conclusion, it is my belief that due to poor dietary choices and inactivity, obesity is a growing problem that can permanently damage a child's mental and physical development.