At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In comparison to the number of elderlies, some nations’ population consists of a huge number of young adults nowadays. Although there are some benefits, I believe there are more drawbacks. On the one hand, having adults as a major part of the population means the country would have extra workforce. With many citizens able to work legally, the state can hire them to work in many different fields and there would be no problem with a shortage of workers. Hence, it is beneficial to have many young people. On the other hand, having such difference in the ratio between old and young civilians can indicate country’s poor health care systems. Since there are a few pensioners but many grownups, it means that adults don't live long. One of the reasons for this phenomenon is bad medical facilities, for example, not enough hospitals or qualified personnel and lack of modern medicine. Furthermore, this occurrence can also show that state has little technological advancement. Having outdated or no machinery would result in harsher work environment for the employees. This, in turn, would result in physical problems. For instance, farmers may lack tractors, so they would need to do everything by hand, which may cause bone and muscle soreness, as well as fatigue. As many individuals have these issues, or some might suffer from worse conditions, most people would have a shorter lifespan. In conclusion, while having considerably more young adults than elderly has some advantages, I think the disadvantages outweigh them. It can benefit the country with additional labour, but it would also show that a country has poor health care and technological progression.