The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the past few years, obesity has taken a serious toll on children's health, particularly, in western communities. A few suggest that, it has surged by almost 20% in the past decade. In this, essay, I shall discuss the insights relating to the given problem and provide examples as required. There are few main reasons for increased weight in western children. To begin with, the food consumption is far greater then their physical activity and daily energy requirement. In the USA, for example, an average child consumes ten kilograms of more sugar than their Asian counterparts. In the same fashion, their meat consumption is significantly higher then remainder of the world. Secondly, with the advent of the internet, the youth is spending a greater amount of time glued to their electronic devices than ever before. Furthermore, they are physically less active then what is recommended by the experts. Moving further, a recent report by the W. H. O confirmed that due to the reasons stated above, the health of the young is falling behind. As such, some are experiencing difficulties in learning, others are facing mild physical and mental shortfalls. Furthermore, obesity has led to diabetes in the younger ages the ever before. As an example, one in five kids in the UK now falls under this category. However, on the positive side, a few western countries are taking baby steps to eradicate this man-made crisis. In conclusion, while changing lifestyles can be blamed for increased weight problem in children, it must be recognised as a serious crisis and should be acted upon without any further delay. In short, children should be encouraged to lead an active lifestyle.