the percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

Research has shown that childhood obesity has risen by twenty percent in the western world. There are several factors which have played a role in this. Also, there are a number of effects of being overweight. One of the major factors that has contributed to an increase in children’s weight is unhealthy food. The number of children eating this kind of food is on the rise, and the increasing number of fast food restaurants is responsible for that. These restaurants sell tasty food to attract children, but these foods contain unhealthy ingredients, such as fat and salt. This occurs because some advertisements encourage children to eat unhealthy meals. Lastly, children do not give time for outdoor activities because they spend more time watching television or playing games on computers at home, which leads to a sedentary lifestyle. As a result of the above factors, children become overweight. This then leaves children prone to many problems. They are more likely to suffer from chronic diseases like high blood pressure and diabetes, during their late age of life. These conditions are life threatening. In addition, these children can be tortured at school by peers, which can have effects on their mental health like stress, anxiety and insomnia. These problems, in turn, often result in lower productivity at school. Futhermore, they are less likely to be selected for school sports teams because the selecting team might be concerned about their fitness. In conclusion, factors like poor diet and sedentary lifestyles because of advances in technology have led to an increase in overweight children, and this may cause serious physiological and psychological problems to children's health.