The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offenses

It is argued that dire punishment plays a leading role in making our roads safer. While I accept that acute punishment should be accountable for mitigating the increase in driving crimes, I also believe that other policies make substantial contributions to alleviating this problem. On the one hand, there are several reasons why severe punishment could exert favourable impacts on dealing with this problem. The first compelling reason is that penalties like prison sentences or license suspension can act as a deterrent criminals and illicit activities. To specify, these deviant individuals would consider potential consequences if they are arrested, meaning that they will avoid committing driving offences. Another reason worth noting is that it could be fairer for victims and their relatives to see these criminals, especially those intentionally cause death, serve prison sentences. By contrast, they could protest and lose their faith in the legislation, and a looming crisis regarding crimes could be on the rise. On the other hand, it seems to me that several different ways could also be conducive to alleviating this social malady. First, it is immensely beneficial to educate people properly to become law-abiding drivers, As a result, they would realize that it is morally unpalatable to transgress laws. Second, a well-grounded investment into road construction could be carried out to help people avoid regrettable accidents. For example, surveillance cameras should be installed to curb people from driving too quickly. Finally, local councils should allocate their budget for building public transport infrastructure, and thus fewer people would need to travel by private vehicles. In conclusion, while I recognize that dealing with problems regarding driving crimes could reap significant benefits of dire punishment, I also argue that the expansion of driving lawbreakers could be considerably alleviated owing to other road safety measures