: University students should be required to take basic science classes even if they are not part of the field of the study.

There is a common topic concerning whether universities are supposed to ask their students to take basic science classes even though the courses are not part of their majors. Although some people tend to hold the idea that signing up for basic science classes is a waste of time, from my perspective, basic science subjects, such as math and literature, may have copious benefits. To begin with, basic science lessons can help the students perform well in their major learning. This is because they can provide college students with a sea of fundamental knowledge, which may help them lay a solid foundation, allowing them to have better understanding of their major courses, which are derivatives from the primary subjects. For example, it is math that can instruct its learners plenty of equations, with which they are able to gain the results which they want easily. With the help of this essential subject, students can better perceive economics. According to a survey made by Nanjing University in China, most of the Chinese economists choose math as their auxiliary course when they study their majors. In addition, basic science classes can exert a positive impact on pressure reduction. In general, some of these courses are largely different from their majors, offering distinct experience for the class-takers to accumulate, and thus helping them take their minds off their stressful major study. For example, it is literature that can render readers a virtual world, temporarily keeping them away from the reality and allowing them not to think about what they are learning at college. In contrast, if the undergraduates learn their majors repeatedly day and night, they are more likely to feel tired of their dull routine, which may greatly reduce their study efficiency. Admittedly, a few people may argue that undergraduates may waste plenty of time if they take basic science classes, which they may have already learned in high school. Besides, paying attention to the basic science classes may occupy a large part of the time that they should spend on the subjects that they are good at. To conclude, in accordance with what has been discussed above, I strongly maintain that universities had better make the policy that all the students ought to learn basic science subjects.