Topic The only way to improve road safety is to much stricter punishment on driving offenses

Some people think that implementing strict laws towards driving offenses is a sole way of bolstering up road safety. I partly agree with this statement and I believe that there might be another ways which are more plausible. On the one hand, imposing strict punishments may act as a deterrent, so rebellious drivers will think twice before committing offenses. In fact, motoring offenses are crimes, so the full weight of the law should be applied in implementing tough punishments such as non-custodial sentences, harsh penalties or heavy fines. Apart from that, the letter of the law should be imposed strictly to careless drivers and who drives while intoxicated. Because, the risk level of dangers like putting hurdles to actions of road-users or endangering the life of innocent lives is exorbitantly high in these drivers. Therefore, implementing harsh penalties should be high on the agenda in order to improve road safety. On the other hand, being tough on motoring offenses is not the only way of enhancing the safety, but, there would be another measures which are well-known with their high efficacy. Installation of speed cameras is an epitomic example to this and it is concerned as " cost-effective" measure by many authorities. Speed cameras spur drivers to adhere to speed limits, as a result, they save the life of many people. In addition, traffic calming measures are next salient way of eschewing road disasters. Raised build-up areas oblige careless drivers to obey speed rules, consequently, provide safety for both pedestrians and drivers. In conclusion, implementing strict punishments towards the people who drive with negligence would be useful in some cases, but I believe that there are another ways which are more compatible as well as cumulative.