The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses.

People have different views on how to improve road safety. While I accept that implementing harsher punishments can help solve this situation, I strongly disagree that this is the only measure because there are alternative ways which are effective and need taking into account. On the one hand, it is undeniable that stricter punishments could deter motorists from driving dangerously and carefully. The full weight of law should be applied in imposing a variety of non-custodial sentences such as heavy fines and the confiscation of driving licenses. Furthermore, for serious offenders such as driving while intoxicated should serve a prison sentence, because they endanger innocent lives. As a result, it is undoubted that people are less likely to commit a driving offence because of those harsher penalties. On the other hand, I would believe that there are several measures that can effectively improve the road safety. Firstly, national and local authorities can help tackle this problem by installing speed camera. This, consequently, could raise the awareness of people about the need to follow the speed limits. In addition, regular vehicle inspections should be conducted, which can play a significant role in reducing the number of accidents caused by mechanical failures. Finally, people should be offered better education about the importance of road safety, especially young people who are more likely to break the rules. This, therefore, could make individuals adhere to the driving rules. In conclusion, I would maintain that strict penalties are not the only way to improve this situation, and they should be implemented along with other steps to completely tackle the road safety issue.