The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses.

Many people think that the best way to improve road safety is by giving stricter punishment to careless drivers. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but there are other methods that could also be used to improve it as imposing a stricter penalty, in my opinion, is not the only way to ensure safety on roads. On the one hand, it is true that having a stricter punishment and increasing the penalties for irresponsible drivers would reduce traffic accidents and improve road safety. For example, it is a fact that using a mobile phone while driving a car is a dangerous act. However, due to the light punishment, many people still use the phone while driving. Should the authority change the punishment into a heavier one, then people will consider twice before they use the phone while driving. Besides, violation of any traffic rule can lead to a severe accident and if the punishment is made a stern, people would likely obey them. On the other hand, there is another method that the government could use in improving road safety besides having a stricter punishment. The government could make a campaign about safety driving through various media which would show the effect of careless driving. For instance, the government could make a safety video about road safety and upload it in social media since the message will be effectively spread in this kind of media. As more people are watching these videos, it is hoped that drivers will have a clearer view of safety driving. In conclusion, to a certain extent, I agree that having a stricter punishment would improve road safety. But I also believe that it should also be supported with other ways, and one of them is by giving audio-visual shows about safety driving.