The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones What problems can this create What are some solutions

In recent years, there are strong competitions between older people and younger ones for jobs. This trend has significant impacts on older workers first, before widespreading to community. Also many effective measures can be taken to tackle this problem. Competing with youngsters, older workers have to face with two main issues. First, older generation seems to suffer more disadvantages in job seeking even when they have the same qualifications and abilities as their younger counterparts. As a result, they may be out of work and could not reach basic needs. Second, strong pressure has a tendency to occur to older people rather than younger ones. Despite many experiences, older workers are not as creative and adaptable as their younger colleagues. They may find difficult to get used to with modern technology and new requirements of labor market. This could lead to psychological deseases such as depression or even heart desease. In long term, it will become the burden of social security. However, with many initiatives from both goverment and individuals, these problems can be resolved. To each older worker first, they need to be eager to develop new skills to adapt to change at workplace. In addition, younger colleagues should be encouraged to support their old counterparts to get acquaintance with up-to-date technique and facilities. And the most important action is from the goverment. They should recommend companies to apply The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 to ensure equal opportunities for older candidates besides running many programs that let older people reach the way to earn a living. In conclusion, it is true that competitions between older people and younger ones for jobs have become increasingly widespread concern. This lead to many problems and of course they can be tackled by the action of both goverment and individuals.